Even More Proof That GEs Suck

Started by cmherndon, May 01, 2007, 09:17:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cmherndon

These are some photos of a power assembly from a GE FDL engine which blew out an entire power assembly somewhere on the IC.  The cylinder head landed several feet (at least 30) from the tracks, while the actual piston crashed through the roof of a house near the tracks.

Photographer unknown.
Caleb M. Herndon, KK4CDT
Frankfort, KY
http://www.cmherndon.com

"The human mind is like a railroad freight car; guaranteed to have a certain capacity, but often running empty."

cmherndon

Caleb M. Herndon, KK4CDT
Frankfort, KY

"The human mind is like a railroad freight car; guaranteed to have a certain capacity, but often running empty."

Backyard

:o Thanks for the pics CMHerndon!
I'm no locomotive mechanic, however my heavy Diesel engine experience makes me question what type bolt that is laying on top of the power assembly.
It looks like it might have been a head bolt, however it also looks like a Grade 8 steel hex-head capscrew.
Usually the head bolts are high carbon steel, a dark metal, and have twelve sides to stand the high torque required.
But that's the type used on a EMD 16v265H four cylinder engine!
Looks like the 16:1 compression ratio won out today.
I wonder if it's from the new 12 cylinder engine.
This is something to Google about!
Backyard/Allen

nscnotp1

WOW!!! Talk about blowing a gasket.  Bet they will just replace the part and turn her loose again, until she blows another one. EMD's are still the best there is.  ;D

JCagle

Why is more proof needed. After a certian ammount of proof is present theory is accepted as law!
Alpha Phi Psi - Tarheel Chapter

cmherndon

Quote from: BackyardI wonder if it's from the new 12 cylinder engine.

It's my understanding that it came out of one of the 2600-series Dash 9s that CN has.  Therefore the power assembly would be out of an FDL-16 block.
Caleb M. Herndon, KK4CDT
Frankfort, KY

CubsFanJohn