Rat Hole-1970 and 1972

Started by Ponce de Leon, June 21, 2011, 12:24:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ponce de Leon

Hey folks...

I'm a newbie to the list (after someone suggested I join). Among other things in my life (I'm a 63 year old retired person, by the way), I worked for the Southern as a part-time janitor at Andover from 1968 until college graduation in 1970, and then as a management trainee based at Louisville for about six months in 1970. I was then drafted into the US Army---but that's another story, of course.

I returned to the Southern in 1972, this time based at Somerset. After another five months of work, I made a decision to change careers. Railroading was, and still is, my first love----but I didn't want to face a career of frequent relocation (with no choice in where I was going!). Also, I found that turning my hobby into a job effectively killed the hobby----so my life went in another direction.

At any rate, I rode F-units up and down the Rat Hole on rail trains, inspected track (between Palm and Oneida) using both a hyrail and a Fairmont motor car----and rode the cab of 229 from Guest Street to Atlanta once, after it was decreed that management trainees should use their cab pass to catch freights (or ride what few passenger trains were still running) rather than turn in mileage, or fly. Fine by me!

Even though my time there was just 11 months total, I have some great memories----and I still love to get over to my old stompin' grounds every few years to watch the trains roll through Cumberland Falls, Revilo or other places. I certainly miss the Southern----but today's NS is really amazing, particularly given the train frequency these days. The First District is humming with trains now, although it was fairly quiet some 40 years ago.

Ron Flanary
Ron Flanary

Michael Knight

Great to have you here, Ron! I've followed and admired your work closely over the years.