11/13/2012 on NS's CNO&TP

Started by SimRacin40, November 14, 2012, 07:59:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SimRacin40

Had plans to visit Norfolk Southern south of Danville yesterday, after finding out there'd be a circus train and possibly a heritage unit, that was an even bigger incentive to go.

I made it to Danville by 9, and found out the Circus train had been by. I went south, hoping there'd be some way to catch up to it. The scanner was quiet most of the time, and I actually made my way down into Tennessee before giving up and going north. At Flat Rock, I heard the dispatcher say that the train was by the signal at Cumberland Falls, so I went south again to find a photo spot. One spot in Whitley City didn't work so well, so I tried again at Strunk. Would've liked to have found a location where I could get more of the train in the photo, but I'm still learning the area.

NS 047, Strunk,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr
After catching the circus train, I went north, looking for the PC heritage unit that was leading 55A. A quick stop at Burnside answered that question, as 55A was still sitting there waiting for a crew. I went north, again, to find a spot to wait for the oncoming southbounds, and to hopefully find a place to wait on 55A to come north. After getting to Waynesburg, the southbounds started moving, along with several northbounds:

NS 295, Waynesburg,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr

NS 229, Waynesburg,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr

NS 111, Waynesburg,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr

NS 111, Waynesburg,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr
I went back up to Bowen to wait on a few more southbounds, but I was running out of daylight. Several of the northbounds I saw at Waynesburg passed me again here.

NS 179, Bowen,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr

NS 143, Bowen,KY 11/13/2012 by bluegrassrailfan, on Flickr