Tennessee Division ?

Started by ssmith1627, October 23, 2008, 12:06:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ssmith1627

I'm very new to all this so please forgive the obvious ignorance......

I found a spreadsheet listing some train #'s and it had tabs for all the different divisions and they do seem to mirror how this site is broken down.    I did see some other reference elsewhere to a Tenn. Div.   Is there such a thing ?

I work in international transportation and now I have a 3-year-old with an interest in trains.  Clearly there's a lot to learn on both fronts ! 

Many thanks,
Steve
Knoxville, TN

bsbaxter

There was a Tennessee Division up until about 2001.  It was then that the Tennessee and Kentucky Divisions were combined to form the Central Division.  There were a few lines that were in the TN or KY divisions that moved to divisions other than the Central, the Chattanooga-Memphis line, for example, went from the TN to the AL division.

In Knoxville, you'll find that the Central Division pretty much has you surrounded.  Closest other divisions would be the Piedmont in Ashville, the Virginia in Bristol; the Pocahontas in Big Stone Gap, the Georgia in Chattanooga, and the Alabama also in Chattanooga.

ssmith1627

Many thanks.   I live just across Rutledge Pike from the John Sevier yard.   Now that I'm paying more attention, I hope to get some good pics.  Obviously trains are going in and out of there all the time.

Is there anything that shows schedules for those trains ?   Another newbie question obviously.  I don't know what kind of schedule freight trains keep to but I'm curious to learn.   

Thanks for your time.

Steve

Michael Knight

Welcome to the board, Steve!  :)