what are the letter/number codes on NS engine cabs?

Started by trainskinner, July 10, 2007, 08:54:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trainskinner

hi,  i'm fairly new to train modeling and i'm not sure what the codes are below the numbers on the NS cabs (i'm also from BNSF country so i don't see many NS locos). right now i'm working on an sd40-2 hinose and i can't quite make out the letters ... i've noticed that most engines have different codes or letters... what do these mean and can i find out what code goes with a paticular engine? any help would be appreciated... i suppose if i knew what these were called to begin with i could have probably done a search... but alas...

thanks.   -mike

Hoydie17

They represent the railroad which that particular locomotive originated from.  I don't really know what their purpose is other than that identification.

You'll see symbols such as:

NW - Norfolk & Western
SOU - Southern Railway
CNO&TP - Cincinnatti, New Orleans & Texas Pacific
AGS - Alabama Great Southern Railroad
PRR - Pennsylvania Railroad

I'm sure there's others that I don't remember.

Sean
Α Φ Ψ  -  Old Dominion Chapter

"I'm not only the club president, I'm also a client."

CTT1(SW) Steven P. Daugherty, United States Navy - 1978 to 2007 - KIA, Baghdad, Iraq - You will not be forgotten.

Full Service

Those letters where the reporting marks of the Subsidiaries of the Southern Railway, and later on , the NS.  From what I have been told, there where placed on the engines for tax purposes.  Some of the marks and the roads are,

AGS   Alabama Great Southern

A&EC   Atlantic and East Carolina

Atl & E. Car    Atlantic and East Carolina

CofG   Central of Georgia

CG    Central of Georgia

CNO&TP   Cincinnati, New Orleans and Texas Pacific

CRN      Carolina and Northwestern

C&NW   Carolina and Northwestern

CR&N   Central of Georgia

G&F      Georgia and Florida

GN        Georgia Northern

GS&F   Georgia Southern and Florida

INT       Interstate