A old fashioned reality check

Started by E.M. Bell, December 11, 2008, 08:01:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

E.M. Bell

For those of you that dont care to read something that has little to nothing to do with the NS, or railroading, hit your back key now.. Thats why we have the lounge here...off topic stuff..

Im not one to usually rant and rave about politics, the economy ect, but I feel a real need to share this. 

I am a manager for a mid-sized company, and in that capacity I am responsible for the hiring, and firing, of employees. I am very lucky that the properties that I oversee tend to have a very low turn over rate with the people that work for me, and I almost consistently  have outstanding employees.  We recently had one of our guys quit, and for the past two days I have been interviewing folks to replace him, lots and lots of folks.  Normally, when we have an opening, we are lucky to have 5 or 10 apply for the position,   but this time I have talked to over 50 people for ONE open slot.

Most of the positions I hire for are out door, dirty, nasty, out in the bad weather go home muddy soaked and cold type jobs. We normally only get younger folks looking for an entry level job to gain job experience and dont mind for working for 8 or 9 dollars and hour.  This is the first time in several months we have hired, and I have been overwhelmed at the number, and diversity of people that are applying.  Young, middle aged, folks from all backgrounds and many that are way over qualified for the position, and almost all are more than willing to take  (in some cases) a severe pay cut just to have a job, and be able to survive.