A New Painting: "Number 3 at McKee Hollow"

Started by Ponce de Leon, March 11, 2012, 10:43:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ponce de Leon

Since there isn't an "art" section on JREB, I thought I would place this topic under the Nags Head Lounge.

The attached summary is self-explanatory, so if you're interested, just download the pdf and read (and look). I want to thank EM and Butch for their support and words of wisdom and advice in this particular endeavor. Also, it was EM's suggestion to have me record, photographically, the various phases of doing a painting. I had to remind myself to put the brush down long enough to take the thing outside to snap a photo--something I've never done before on one of these projects (at least until it was actually finished).

I attempted to explain just a few of the details one considers in painting such a scene. In that sense, it's much like a modeling project (for those of you who are skilled and serious modelers--and from some of the work I've seen here, I know there are several). In many cases, I work from multiple photos. This one was pretty much a slightly altered version of an old photo, but I did use a few other shots for reference.

Comments and critiques (or questions) are encouraged.
Ron Flanary

thpbears

Ptrainman

NS Virginia Division Expert & Railfan
KK4KQX

E.M. Bell

Ron, I appreciate you doing that and letting us see how the process all comes together. I must admit I was being a bit selfish when I asked for the play by play of how you paint, as I had no idea myself.

We seem to focus on the "instant gratification" of being able to see a photo we just took, but there is none of that in doing a painting. I guess the nice thing in painting as opposed to photography is the painter CAN go back and re-create things you may have never seen in person and be able to modify that to suit your taste...with photography, you pretty much have to take the hand your dealt.