Author Topic: Railpictures.net  (Read 5670 times)

Offline ssmith1627

• Inactives
  • Old Head
Railpictures.net
« on: February 04, 2009, 09:57:35 PM »
Apparently this picture wasn't worthy of their site either.    I submitted it today and the response was that it wasn't sharp enough (soft).   Sharpened it and resubmitted and now the response is that it lacks contrast.

The other problem is their file size / pixel limits degrade the image.  I started out with a 2.5MB file and the picture looks a lot better on my 1440 X 900 monitor than it does after I've resized it to fit their requirements.

I'm just an amateur.  I only started this a few months ago.   I'm certainly not taking any mind-blowing pictures but I do think I've gotten a few good ones over time.   Trying to please those guys however just takes the fun out of all this.     I think I'll stick to posting in my own album !

Thanks for listening to me rant......

Steve

« Last Edit: February 04, 2009, 10:00:06 PM by ssmith1627 »

Offline ssmith1627

• Inactives
  • Old Head
Re: Railpictures.net
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2009, 10:13:36 PM »
Ok, I adjusted the contrast and brightness.   Is this a better image than the first one I posted ?   Worse ?

Appreciate the feedback.

Steve

Offline Gage O'Dell

• Old Head
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2009, 01:29:53 AM »
This my own opinion but i like the 2nd pic best it has better contrast than the 1st and also the first is rotated just a little. But overall a good pic

Offline ssmith1627

• Inactives
  • Old Head
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2009, 09:23:12 AM »
Thanks for the response.  I appreciate that.

Offline Batman

• Old Head
    • http://www.nslocos.com
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2009, 09:11:48 PM »

i like the darker one ,  it that sevier yard ?

Offline billworsham

• Old Head
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2009, 09:19:34 PM »
Yes, that is John Sevier Yard; the shot taken from the Rutledge Pike overpass, west end of the yard.

Offline ssmith1627

• Inactives