Author Topic: Looking to become an engineer...  (Read 1071 times)

rollindown75

Looking to become an engineer...
« on: September 14, 2007, 11:55:58 AM »
Hello everyone,
I'm new to the group. Thought it would be an excellent place to bring up some questions i had in mind. I'm one day looking to becoming an locomotive engineer. Currently, I'm working in a broadcast company that i have been working with for about 15 years. I plan to ride it out for about another 10 years or so. Afterwards, I'd like to work about 5-8 years in the railroad industry. Talking with a few engineers, i was told if you are married, the railroad is not for you. Long days and long hours, Always gone and have been known to break up happy households. That's why i choose to do it as a second career. I'm happily married and would love to stay that way. But? I would love to pursue something that i've always wanted to do. I'm wondering if anyone could give any kind of advice or suggestions for someone that would be interested in becoming a locomotive engineer.
Thanks,

Offline GP30Rider

• Inactives
  • Old Head
Re: Looking to become an engineer...
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 06:01:16 PM »
Find a shortline that might give you an opportunity, or give up your social life working for a Class One.  Most of the children born to Class One engineers and conductors were born while daddy was on the road.   They are not kidding when they say you will be out of the house for the next 20 years.  That might be a good thing for some, but if you have a wife that wants to see you on a regular basis, forget it. 
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 06:02:58 PM by GP30Rider »

TB4JY

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2007, 09:13:44 PM »
Oh come on. :D  Working on a class one isn't that bad.  Yes your gone allot, but sometimes that's a good thing.  I been working on a class 1 for 10 years, and I was home for both of my kids being born.  I know of no one I work with that has not been home for their kids birth.  FMLA!