Author Topic: My rejects  (Read 3560 times)

Offline j.c1987

• Inactives
  • Extra Board
My rejects
« on: September 18, 2011, 02:06:51 PM »
Hello,

I have had two photos of NS 7129 rejected from railpics.net.  The quality of these photos are pretty close to what they allow on the site.  I use a basic digital camera 14 megapixel 36mm-108mm which I know isn't much.    What can I do to make the quality better?  I do this as a hobby and I am not a professional by any means.  The third photo is a shot that hasn't been edited. 

Offline Ed Fury

• Inactives
  • Old Head
    • Flickr
Re: My rejects
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2011, 03:00:57 PM »
What reasons did they give for rejection? Work to correct that first.

Then look at someone on there who has had a lot of photos accepted. Try and mimic them. Imitation is the best form of flattery as the saying goes. Some of those photos on there are works of art and others are just basically documenting the history of the railroad. Find your balance between the two. Watch your lighting and I know they (that site) hates certain elements in photo submissions and rejects them on a pretty consistent basis.

Steve Schmollinger, if I may name drop or use as an example, was the inspiration for me when I first started becoming a railroad photographer hobbyist. He has photographed the Union Pacific Mineola sub between Longview and Dallas Texas extensively and this line was about 15 or 20 miles North from where I was living. While I was there I really never had an opportunity to railfan except for a handful of times and I had nowhere near the equipment as a more serious photographer. I can remember seeing those locations in person and then looking at the photos Steve took in the same places and it is like I am standing right there again. I looked at how he did his photos and tried my best to copy that.